Follow

How to: Deprecate a Job

When managing your Figure Eight account, you may occasionally want to deprecate a job.  Figure Eight has very specific conditions for when this action can and cannot be performed.  In this article, we will review those conditions, show you how to deprecate a job when possible, and give you some alternatives to deprecating your job when it is not possible to do so.

 

What are the required conditions for deprecating my job? 

You can only deprecate jobs that are in Canceled or Not Launched states.  You cannot deprecate jobs that are in state ‘Running’, ‘Paused’ or ‘Finished’. Rather than deprecating, It is best practice to keep even ‘Paused’ jobs on your Dashboard in case you want to reuse their components; in this case, you can cancel the job to allow the unused funds to be returned to your account. We recommend this practice as reports, performance metrics, and CML (or custom JS and CSS) from ‘Paused’ jobs can be useful to improve similar jobs in the future.

Your job queue can be organized by project and searched using the top bar. Additionally, you can hide your jobs from other team members if you're worried about clutter or confusion.  So unless you really want to deprecate a job, we recommend keeping it around just in case you need it in the future.

 

What happens when I deprecate my job?

Once a job is deprecated, it disappears from your Jobs list, but no data is deleted from the platform. The job simply goes into an unusable state, so it cannot be copied or launched. Deprecating a job cannot be undone; once you’ve taken this action, the job cannot be returned to a usable state.

 

How do I deprecate a Job? 

If you are on your Jobs page, find the job that you wish to deprecate from you queue, click the gear icon that is in the far right, and select "Deprecate", like this: :
Screen_Shot_2019-09-17_at_12.07.15_PM.png

Fig. 1: Deprecate Job Via the Jobs Page


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 3 found this helpful


Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk